A Fundraiser Bill of Rights…why not?

For years, I’ve taken copies of A Donor Bill of Rights with me when I meet donors face to face. Along with a copy of my professional ethical code, I’ve found it useful in explaining what donors can, and should, expect when working with fundraisers.

Well, something happened a couple of weeks ago to make me think about the need for a companion piece, A Fundraiser Bill of Rights.  Let me explain…

Did You Say A Fundraiser Bill of Rights?

Did You Say A Fundraiser Bill of Rights?

I was asked to speak at a fundraising workshop – to share some ‘tips and techniques’ about being successful. When preparing for this, I started writing a description of the ideal working environment – one that supported fundraisers and instilled in them a high level of comfort and confidence in approaching donors, regardless of whether that meant writing proposals, direct marketing, or meeting them face to face).  I had a donor bill of rights sitting on my desk as I was jotting down ideas and voila, a fundraiser bill of rights was born.

While it was crafted in the spirit of fun, after presenting it, I realised that perhaps it’s not such a bad idea after all. And now, it’s over to you. What do you think?

About Norma Cameron, CFRE

Norma Cameron is owner and principal of The Narrative Company, formed in 2006 to help people and organizations understand and apply the “power of story”. Prior to this, Norma had over 20 years’ experience in communications, fundraising, organizational development, performance storytelling, public speaking and training. As an engaging keynote speaker and seminar leader, she works with public, private and non-profit sector clients. As a seasoned storyteller, she has performed at conferences, concerts and festivals across Canada and the UK.
This entry was posted in Fundraiser Bill of Rights, Fundraising, Narrative Philanthropy, The Narrative Company. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

